70 or so horror movies I must see before I die

I was appalled with myself yesterday. I flicked through my new copy of 101 Horror Movies You Must See Before You Die (ABC Books, 2009 ) only to discover I’d only seen about 30 of them. 30! That’s a bit less than a third – and these are apparently the best horror movies of all time. What have I been doing all these years?

In my defence, some of the titles chosen are still quite difficult to get a hold of on DVD (who has a VCR player these days?) and sadly I wasn’t around in the 60s to catch the classics of the genre at the drive in (patent on time machine pending). But it did make me realise how much there is still to explore.

So while my two all-time favourites made the editor’s cut: Polanski’s suspenseful Rosemary’s Baby (1968) and British occult masterpiece The Wicker Man (Hardy, 1973), I was like a kid in a candy store deciding what to try out next. The German expressionist classic The Golem (1920)? Or the notoriously exploitative Freaks (1932)?  I mean, who could resist that tagline: Can a full grown woman truly love a midget? Perhaps the Italian Dellamorte Dellamore (1994) – probably worth it just to see Rupert Everett battle zombies!

I’m going to do my best to track some of these down – so stay tuned!

10 Responses to “70 or so horror movies I must see before I die”

  1. The best way to see classic movies (any genre) is by watching ‘The Muppet Show’. Through the references and spoofs, you’ll get to see it all. And the best news? Season 4 is available this year!!

  2. I was just trying to come up with a list of horror movies I’ve seen, and I bet I’ll score so miserably under 30 it’s not funny!

    I was just wondering if you’d seen any Japanese horror movies? You know, like the original ‘Ring’ and ‘Dark Water’?

  3. I’ve seen the original Ring series (Ring, Ring 2, Ring 0) as well as the first of the Ju-on (The Grudge) series, but not Dark Water (which I understand had a US remake in 2004). I loved them! I’d dearly like to know what it is in the Japanese psyche that results in the consistent use of dripping wet women as a horror motif – I must do some research on the origins and symbolism of this! I’ve also recently seen the Koren film Thirst (2009) directed by Park Chan-wook – also brilliant…

    • If you haven’t seen ‘Dark Water’ I strongly recommend it – forget the Hollywood remakes, to put bluntly they’re kinda crap. There’s nothing quite like the twisted psyche of the Japanese horrors. I’ve yet to see Thirst, but I’m aiming to, just as soon as I find it!

  4. My wife completely concurs with wanting to see Rupert Everett battle zombies!

  5. Uncle Screwtape Says:

    All of the horror movies you’ve seen have only been in the last 10 years, I’m sure you’ll get through the rest.

  6. I’ll not see every horror movie just because it’s horror – there are only some types I like. However, that being said, I’ve seen Dellamorte Dellamore on SBS twice now – it’s a bit of a black comedy more than horror perhaps, and is more about philosophy than zombies. Still fun to watch though.

  7. I do intend on seeing the Wicker Man one day soon – as I’ve seen Hot Fuzz several times now and each time it reminds me I should watch it.

Leave a Reply

